Trespassing

Trespassing by Joshua J- August 7th 2012

I see the silver fence in front of me. It surrounds the complete area. I can see a small gap, just big enough for me to squeeze through. I know I shouldn’t be sneaking in the building site, but I just can’t resist.
The adrenaline and the excitement of being caught, all mixed in with the nerves of the misbehaviour of trespassing are all too tempting.
Do I do it, or do I not?
In a wild moment of madness, I decide to do it.
I decide to trespass across the building site. Explore the maze of half built houses, the concrete roads and the tangle of diggers and other metal machinery.
Besides, I’m completely dressed in black from the tip of my head to the bottom of my body.
Nobody will see me in the darkness of the night.
Will they?
But that’s the excitement of it.
The whole reason for doing it.
I know I shouldn’t be, but I am.
I crawl along the muddy ground, and slide through the long masses of tangled up grass and prickly weeds.
I squeeze through the gap in the bent silver fence. I slide the top half of my body through silently. I made no sound to be heard. I smile smugly to myself trihumpantly.
My plot is going to plan.
But I get too bigheaded. Too carried away with myself.
Just as I think I have managed to get my whole body through the gap in the fence, with the moonlight shining through the slim bars, my foot bangs against it.
Clang!
It rattles the fence, causing a ripple effect splitting through the silent night air.
I pause for a moment. My heart beating in suspense.
I stop and stare at the night guards in the big box in the centre of the site, watching over the dark shadows of the quiet land that surrounds them.
I wait for a few seconds. Just to be safe that nobody has heard me, that the guards don’t decide to come out and shine their bright torches all around me, over the muddy ground, the rock hills and the entangled mass of grass that they have yet to cut down.
One.
Two.
Three.
Four.
Five.
The door stays shut, nobody comes out. I’m safe for now.
I decide to stand up and stretch my legs, occasionally bobbing down behind a pitch black mountain of rubble, and pausing to stop and scan my surroundings. I am in somebody else’s territory after all. I can hear nothing around me, but only the sound of my own heartbeat in my ears, as my heart beats out of my chest and my adrenaline fear filled blood rushes around my body, with ,y head slowly swivelling around and my eyes darting all around my eye sockets.
Even the wind is silent tonight.
It’s as if the whole world around me has taken a deep breath of suspense to watch me, and won’t breath out again until I succeed in this breaking of the law.
I have to do it now, the let the world and time carry on spinning and ticking.
I feel like I am the only one alive.
But I felt as though I had a secret audience.
I didn’t like that feeling though, the feeling that I have hundreds of pairs of eyes, whether humans or animals, peering at me. I could literally feel the power of their vision upon my body, imaginary or not.
Whether this was in my imagination within my mind, or whether it is real, I cam only take a wild guess at.
I’m now passing the outline of a great large vehicle. The digger looks almighty in the night, quite scary in fact.
It even felt as though the digger was alive.
And the bricks.
And the hills.
And the grass.
But that wasn’t my biggest obstacle tonight.
I decide that I would have an adrenaline rush. I decide that it would be rather fun to sneak under the watchmen’s box.
I half crawl, half run, towards one of the legs of the box, as it’s suspended in the air.
I can hear voices within the box, and a slight tapping noise. I wondered what it was for a moment, before realise that it was one of the men tapping their foot on the floor above me.
Tap.
One, two, three, four.
Tap.
One, two, three, four.
Tap.
One, two, three, four.
I sneak under the box, walking diagonally across it underneath it.
But then the tapping stops, and the voices stop.
I stop.
Have they heard me?
Will they come out and see me?
Will I get caught?
The suspense of the moment was killing me. I could feel my blood thicken within my veins that were woven around my body, as though the extra fear, along with the adrenaline within my blood was causing my veins to struggle. I felt my heart beating faster, working harder to pump this adrenaline and fear and excitement around my frozen body.
The voices start back up again. The tapping resumes. My body un tightens.
Relaxation again. The watchmen must of decided that the sound was in their head. I suppose that even if they were to look outside with their great spotlights that were torches, they wouldn’t think of looking directly underneath them.
would they?
I decide to make a dart for it.
I run, winding my way around the machinery, the vehicles, the diggers, the hills and the rock piles. I jump over a bundle of cones and leap over a board that’s covering a large hole in the ground. I run along the top of a pipe, making a slight tip tapping sound in the silent night.
But I’m safe. It’s not loud enough for anybody else to hear but me.
But I’m not safe enough. I’m not out of this building site jungle just yet.
I approach the silver fence. But I start to panic.
I can’t see an opening in sight.
Not one gap in the fence.
How am I going to get out?
Please tell me I don’t have to go back the way I came.
I can’t take that risk once more.
If I get caught, how will I explain myself?
Finally, in a moment of desperation and a cry of frustration, I see a small gap in the fence.
I run up to it, trying to be as silently as I can.
I squeeze my head underneath it, then my arms, followed by my back and finally my legs, trying to be as silent as I can.
I manage it.
Not a solitary noise made.
I sigh a single breath of relief.
I’m Fish.
The Cat.
I lick my paws clean, I look back and realise that’s it been a wild adventure for a cat like me, and let’s face it, who would really take a cat to court for trespassing?

2 thoughts on “Trespassing

  1. Well done JJ, great storyline. I like the twist at the end 🙂

    You repeated yourself towards the end. ” as silently as I can” is in two sentences that are next to each other. But aside from that nit picking I liked it.

    No wonder your in top set 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

